High-Stakes Battle: Ambernath United vs. Shillong Lajong in Hero I-League 2

Ambernath United Atlanta FC is set to face off against Shillong Lajong at Mumbai’s Cooperage Stadium on Tuesday. The home team had an eventful start to the Hero I-League 2 final round, securing a 1-0 victory over FC Bengaluru United. This upcoming clash against Shillong is particularly significant as it brings together the top two teams in the league table for the first time in a competitive fixture.

In their opening match against FC Bengaluru United, Ambernath United Atlanta FC had to wait until the 82nd minute to find the winning goal. Substitute Abhijit Tawhare capitalized on a scramble in the box and calmly slotted the ball past the Bengaluru keeper, securing a 1-0 lead and all three points for his team.

On the other hand, Shillong Lajong has been performing well in the final round, remaining undefeated thus far. They kicked off their campaign with a 2-1 victory against Unites SC and followed it up with a goalless draw against Delhi FC. With four points from a possible six, Shillong Lajong currently sits at the top of the table. Their strong performance in the group stages, winning four out of six matches and drawing once, secured their position in the final round and has put them in a favorable position to contend for the title.

See also  Empire FC Set to Galvanize Bengaluru's Football Scene

Ambernath United Atlanta FC has been on an impressive winning streak, claiming victories in their last five matches, including four during the group stages to secure their place in the final round. Their 1-0 opening win in the final round has further bolstered their confidence, and they will be eager to achieve back-to-back victories, potentially propelling them to the top of the final round table. Another match to look out for is between Delhi FC and United SC, where both teams will be aiming to secure their first win in the final round.

The squad for Ambernath United Atlanta FC to face Shillong Lajong includes Himanshu Patil (C), Allan Dias, Arif Shaikh, Manoj Gupta, Ashley Koli, Johnson Matthews, Abhijit Tawhare, Shravan Shetty, Aaron D’Costa, Umesh Peramba, Mandeep Singh Multani, Rahul Murali, Kaustubh Ravindra, Nishant Shetty, Nitesh Monde, Tejas Raut, Bipin Rawat, Bersal Viegas, Vishnu Menon, and Yasheel Shah.

The match will kick off at 4:00 PM at the Cooperage Stadium in Colaba, Mumbai. Can Ambernath United Atlanta FC achieve consecutive wins in the Hero I-League 2 final round?